Journey To The Frozen North… In The Middle Of Summer :: My Alaska Journal (Day Two)

Day Two

Okay, so I have a now have compelling urge to buy Xtratuf boots. They are quite the “in” footwear here in Alaska. And although I’ve never in my life desired to wear, much less own, a pair of rubber boots that come up to my knees, I suddenly feel very envious of those who have them and have found myself trying to figure out a way to justify the expense in my head.

I guess that’s just the power of crowd. Crowd is an overwhelming force that seems to dominate so much of our decision-making. It’s usually quite subversive and quiet, kind of like a rip tide at the ocean shore. You don’t realize that you are being swept away by it until you’re a good quarter mile from where you used to be.

Well, I’m not going to buy new boots. My walmart boots should suffice for the week I am here. And regardless of what my subconscious tells me, my value isn’t determined by my footwear. And even if I have the boots I’ll still be a sucky outdoorsman and who would likely die within about 30 minutes of being left alone in the woods.

About rmashaw

I am a Christ-follower, husband, father, pastor, musician and artist who desries to open up the box of my life for others to rummage through and perhaps find something of use to them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Comment

