Journey To The Frozen North… In The Middle Of Summer :: My Alaska Journal (Day Five)

Day Five

It’s Thursday, I think it’s day five. There’s a temptation to grow accustomed to whatever environment you find yourself in. I imagine this is part of getting comfortable and I’m sure on some level it’s helpful, but it’s also kind of a bummer. Each day that passes I find myself a little more used to my surroundings here and the landscape instills a little less wonder and awe than it did yesterday.  Don’t get me wrong, I’m still quite impressed every time I look out at those mountains and think of the mighty hand of God that carved them out. But I can already tell that if I was here for even a few weeks longer it probably wouldn’t even phase me. Like a picture you hang on a conspicuous wall in your house. You notice it every time you walk by for about a week and then it becomes background noise. I hate that. I genuinely hate the thought that before too long I could be sitting here thinking, “What’s that noise? Oh, it’s just a few bald eagles soaring over a majestic mountain top while seals and otters fish for salmon in the river below. No big deal.” I hate it, but I know its true. I can already feel it.

I am praying that God would awaken me to see His glory in the place that I live again. That I would see Florida as if it was the first time I had ever been there and that, maybe, I could even find a way to live amazed everyday. Not always dependent upon new experiences and surroundings to draw out of me the awe and wonder that our Creator’s handiwork deserves.

About rmashaw

I am a Christ-follower, husband, father, pastor, musician and artist who desries to open up the box of my life for others to rummage through and perhaps find something of use to them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Journey To The Frozen North… In The Middle Of Summer :: My Alaska Journal (Day Five)

  1. Tandy Hammond says:

    This happened to me the last time we got out of our own context. When we came home I did look around with renewed eyes. I took pictures of things that I some how grow to notice no longer… I was shocked at what I had been missing!

    • rmashaw says:

      I have been trying to do this better, but the snake laying right outside my garage this morning didn’t help out too much…
      Nor did the insane heat and humidity while I was cutting the grass yesterday. But on the bright side it was very bright and sunny with clear skies 🙂

Leave a Comment

